Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5
David A. Bucher Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B87
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1769-1912, including letters, 1861-1874, written to David A. Bucher, dentist of Shade Gap, Huntingdon County, Pennsylvania and later, of Bridgewater, Rockingham County, Virginiaa. The letters are from relatives and friends in Bridgewater, Virginia, Martinsburg, West Virginia, Hancock, Maryland, Orbisonia, Carlisle, McConnellsburg, Gettysburg and Round Grove, Pennsylvania and Polk City, Iowa. One letter concerns the Battle of Gettysburg. Collection also includes legal...
Dates:
1769-1912
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Joseph E. Johnston Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 J63
Scope and Contents
Papers of Joseph E. Johnston, C.S.A. General during the American Civil War, including correspondence which reflect his long military career and interest in his nephews, John Warfield Johnston and John Preston Johnston. The papers include a diary, 1857, of Johnston's survey of the southern boundary of Kansas and eighteen volumes of Civil War dispatches and telegrams. The collection also includes a diary, 1 May-31 July 1864, of Thomas B. Mackall; letters received by...
Dates:
1825-1891
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Lassiter Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 L33
Scope and Contents
Papers (including correspondence and speeches); 1861-1928; of Francis Rives Lassiter and Charles Trotter Lassiter. Correspondence concerns Virginia Democratic Party, Prohibition, the Good Roads Movement, agriculture, and the presidential campaign of 1928. The collection includes a list of Petersburg, Va. volunteers in the American Civil War; letter copybooks of both men; and papers, 1910, relating to the death of Francis Rives Lassiter. 962 items and 8 volumes. Acc. 2011.613...
Dates:
1861-1928
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Letcher Papers
Collection
Identifier: SC 01066
Scope and Contents
Papers; 1860-1875; of John Letcher, governor of Virginia, 1860-1864. Includes appointment, 1860, of justices of the peace for Augusta County, Virginia signed by Letcher; and letters, November 3, 1864-September 3, 1865, of Letcher, Lexington Virginia to Joseph A. Hierholzer, Richmond, Virginia. Three of the letters are negative photocopies.
Dates:
1860-1875
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Booth Taliaferro Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...
Dates:
1811-1954
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center